I've been attending a meeting for about 4 years and I'm considering becoming a member.  I think this would go through a clearness committee and I am definitely not clear on a few things.  I'd like to start a conversation and ask for your responses.

I like the Quaker community a great deal.  The meeting style is to my liking and the kids love it.  I was raised Catholic and didn't like it because it was hard for me to believe all the stories and I did not like the hierarchy.  Also a married a Protestant and he chose the church (more important to him than to me) which I am fine with.  I have some challenges though, maybe 3. Let start with number 1.

Eldering of Vocal Ministry.  I have observed members endearing the vocal ministry of others to the tune of "too intellectual" and "does that come from ego" or something like that.  This seems nitpicking to me.  Maybe some of us got something out of the message.  Why make the messenger feel bad about his/her message?  Can a quaker really judge, or should they judge messages like this?  How in the world do they know or presume to know what is spirit inspired, and what is not?  I'd like a perspective on why eldering like this occurs and is tolerated in meetings. Thanks.

Views: 285

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Without knowing the flavor of your Meeting, this is a tricky question. The rule of thumb around here seems to be that anyone can speak in Meeting; and anyone can talk, favorably or otherwise, to the speaker after Meeting -- both to be taken with as much salt as seems appropriate.

There is a tacit informal pecking order; but basically this shouldn't matter unless one seriously offends enough people (or an influential enough person) for someone to call in a committee to deal with the situation.