Dear Friends,

I am new to this Ning community and seriously interested in the Quaker way. Several years ago I was making a decision between the Anglican/Episcopal church and Quakerism, and at that time chose the Anglican church.

With a myriad of question, that I know can not be answered all at once, I would like to ask whether there are Christians among you who essentially hold to the central Creeds of the Christian church. Is it possible and acceptable to be a relatively conservative (not literal or fundamentalist) Christan in this sense And be a Quaker?

Are there ways of being sure that the Light within, of which you speak, is not a relativistic and experiential concept only? Are there writings or "helps" which help one to know that this is, in fact The Light of Christ....... that Meetings and indivicuals are rightly discerning of this Light?

This is the beginning of my questions.

I attending my first Meeting this past First Day.

Thank you for any help you can give.

peace & blessings,

Margaret

Views: 82

Replies to This Discussion

Before this became a discussion topic I sent Margaret a response to her message for group members on the same question. The main part of my response is quoted below. I'd be interested in whether other Friends have further things to say about this.

From my response:
"Margaret, I'm not sure what beliefs you consider to be the central creeds of the Christian church. I believe that God is the Creator of the Universe, I believe in the divinity of Jesus and that Jesus in the flesh was the incarnation of God. I believe that Jesus rose again after his crucifixion and that He is now present with us through the Holy Spirit. When praying to God/Jesus/the Holy Spirit I do not distinguish them but address them as one. I don't call myself a trinitarian because I think that doctrinal definitions of the Trinity quickly get very verbal and confuse rat her than clarify.