dear people, i've felt some sort of spiritual kinship with the Quaker way for many years and am now feeling a need to learn more and attend a local meeting of Friends here in Austin, TX. i am not and have never been a Christian but have always had deep spiritual feelings. i have always believed in the equality of all peoples and had passionate feelings for social justice. i marched for all such causes back in the 60s in Chicago and feel as strongly now as i did as a youngster. i have been reading novels and a couple of books involving Quakerism and would love to hear from anyone as to what books i should read first that might help me gain a better understanding. my dress is not often simple, and i have always worn jewelry. could that mean that i do not fit in or maybe would not be welcome? silly questions, perhaps, but i am most surely a novice here! many thanks to anyone who might respond with ideas and/or information! Beth

Views: 357

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

thank you again, Faye. in no way do i find our discussion offensive! on the contrary, it is a big relief to have found this site and the helpful people on it! i'm also relieved to know that one is not required either to use plain language or not use it but may tailor to fit the circumstances. i use it on occasion with a select couple of close friends, probably because i have belonged to a secular support group for the past 19 years, and a few of the brief prayers we use have plain language from the bible, even though it is not a Christian group per se. but i guess i already said that when i used the word "secular," didn't I? (smile)
another question, if you don't mind...my understanding is that the Quaker way does not include the consumption of alcohol. does that still hold true?

i am hoping i am not being a nuisance, Faye, and any others who might be reading!